Friday Five, Paper Doll Costume for Halloween

Ever played with paper dolls when you were a kid? I have fond memories of them, so when I chanced upon the how to for making a paper doll costume, I knew I had to do this! Instructions are available at Spoonful.com, but I skipped some of the instructions, and incorporated some of my ideas. Measurements and templates are provided on the website, which made this real easy to complete!

You will need:
A large poster board, in white
Paints and brushes
Black marker
Scissors
Duct tape
A bit of yarn

Step 1
Measure your child, and sketch the outline of the dress on the poster board accordingly. Using the templates, trace the bag and ribbon on the board as well. Proceed to cut it out.

paperdoll8

paperdoll7

Step 2
Now, for the fun part, slather paint over everything!

paperdoll5
Pre paint

paperdoll1
Post paint

Step 3
While waiting for the paint to dry, you can cut the “tabs” out from the scraps. Proceed to add in the little lines.

paperdoll9
These are 4 by 2 inches.

Step 4
When the paint has dried, use a black marker to outline and draw the details.

paperdoll3

paperdoll4

paperdoll2

Step 5
Attach the tabs, using duct tape. Hot glue the “ribbon” to a hair band. Following that, prepare your child that her costume is almost ready to wear! The original instruction was to use elastic and velcro to go over the back, which I found complicated. I simply used some yarn and duct tape to wear it like a giant necklace.

paperdoll6
All ready for Halloween. Trick or Treat!

I had the most fun painting, tracing and adding the details. If you spot any paper dolls for sale, do drop me a line. I’d definitely like to relive my childhood!

Linking with:

4 thoughts on “Friday Five, Paper Doll Costume for Halloween

Leave a Reply

