Tiong Bahru Market Favourites

On the rare occasion that the Husband gets a weekday morning off, we like to head to Tiong Bahru Market for breakfast. I love the familiar scene of elderly folks settling down to a coffee, worker bees in their office garb standing in line for nasi lemak, and acquaintances giving a smile and saying hello to one another. Amidst the hustle and bustle of the market, I feel at ease and contented with my “Teh Siew Dai” and my humble plate of vegetarian bee hoon. Here are 5 of my favourite stalls.

tbm
Washing down their Chwee Kueh with a cold soybean drink

1.”Jian Bo Shui Kueh”, #02-05

ck

I haven’t found a better Chwee Kueh than the ones they sell here. The kids can polish half a dozen of these in a split second.

2.”Teochew Fishball Noodle Dry/Soup”, #02-13

meepok
Their fish balls are made by hand

I like my mee pok dry please, with chilli. I’m a huge fan of this stall, and their noodles are my staple
breakfast food whenever I’m here.

3.”Tiong Bahru Pau”, #02-18/19
Great for take away for breakfast the next morning! Grab an egg tart for a post breakfast treat, or a Lo Mai Kai for a light lunch. They do a mean Char Siew Sou as well.

4.”Zhong Yu Yuan Wei Wanton Noodle”, #02-30
Wanton noodles is my favourite dish next to fishball noodles. For a mere $2.50, you get springy
noodles, char siew, and wanton. Delicious and friendly to the wallet as well!

5.”Hong Heng Fried Sotong Prawn Mee”, #02-01
They only open from lunch. There are quite a few Hokkien Mee stalls around, but nothing beats this one! It is the first stall on the left, if you take the escalator up.

After breakfast, we will pop by the market below to get groceries. Prices are mostly reasonable, and I like the fact that I get free coriander and red chilli when I buy my vegetables from there. You can get a bunch of flowers for the home at the same time. A stalk of lily only costs $3.50!

teh

There you have it, my favourites for Tiong Bahru Market. Which stalls do you like best?

Linking with:

4 thoughts on “Tiong Bahru Market Favourites

  1. Oh this reminds me of my teenage years in Singapore when my Auntie used to buy fresh soy bean milk, roti prata and fried fritters for our breakfast on Sundays when she comes back from the market. Wish I could take my kids here…

Leave a Reply

